Posted by: beradiant | December 9, 2008

Breathe In, Breathe Out

Let’s be honest, stress can get to everyone from time to time. Whether your job is in limbo, a relationship is heading south, or you’ve just had one of those days, life can throw you out of whack. Take a deep breath and read on to find out some of my favorite ways to decompress after a tough day…

  • Laugh: Whether this means hanging out with an upbeat friend or just watching a funny movie, laughing will lighten your mood and give you a new perspective.
  • Soak It Up: A hot bath coupled with a glass of wine can cure just about anything! 😉 If you have a Central Market nearby, go in and create your personalized combination of bath salts. I did this recently and LOVED both the process and the results at home!
  • Read: Pull out a good book that will help you settle in for the night, light some candles in the room and cuddle up with a blanket. Feeling cozy and at ease with your favorite character will reduce your stress in no time.
  • Talk it out: I’ve never visited a therapist (although my dad is one and I feel I owe him big time for all his services ;)), but talking things through with a friend is a sure fire way to alleviate whatever you’re going through. Talk it out…and if they’ll give you a massage in the process, that’s even better! 🙂
  • Breathe: If you can, go to one of your favorite yoga classes at the end of the day. I recently started practicing Bikram Yoga and love that it forces me to breathe deeply and focus on my body’s movements in the process. It’s an incredible way to release tension and work up a sweat!

What are your favorite ways to decompress after a hard day?

On another note, I had a great 3-mile run today! I followed it with lunges, squats and a long shower! 🙂 The weather turned cold and rainy here, so I’m settling in with a romantic movie (still deciding what that will be) and a slew of lit candles. What will you do to enjoy your evening??

“Before you agree to do anything that might add even the smallest amount of stress to your life, ask yourself: What is my truest intention? Give yourself time to let a yes resound within you. When it’s right, I guarantee that your entire body will feel it.” – Oprah Winfrey

I’m leaving you with a few more pictures :)…

Right before John proposed - notice the oh so attractive Ugg boots ;)

Right before John proposed - notice the oh so attractive Ugg boots 😉

Bedazzled!

Bedazzled!

Leave a Reply

Categories

